© 2020 by ​Monterey Peninsula Quilters Guild

COViD restrictions make exchanging blocks difficult, so this year we’re changing things a bit. You will save all of your finished blocks and put your own quilt together at the end of the year. The theme is Beatlemania, celebrating the music of the Beatles through quilting. 

Each block will feature one of our favorite Beatles songs as we explore them through design and fabric. We could all use some joy in these times and what better way than connecting with some of the greatest music of all time. 

​Instructions

  • Choose a favorite color palette of fabrics in a variety of values to use on all the blocks that you create. Use your scraps!

  • Each month we will post a new Beatles song with prompts and inspirations for your block. You will be given the option of following the instructions for a block that we choose or creating your own design inspired by the song.

  • All squares will be either 18 ½ inches or 12 ½  inches, (18 inches finished, 12 inches finished); your choice.  If you feel like you might not complete all the months you might prefer the larger size. 

  • We will ask that you share your completed block each month on our Zoom Show and Tell and then keep your blocks to put together in a quilt of your own design. 

Please look for each month's BOM in your  Pines & Needles newsletter.

Joan Costello, Block of the Month
email

The following links will lead you to resources for goods, services, and knowledge.

 

APPRAISALS AND SALES

Nancy Bavor, Certified Appraiser of Quilted Textiles www.quiltworth.com, quiltworth@gmail.com

Hambrook's Auction Center, auction sales www.hambrooks-auction.com

 

CLASSES

Back Porch Fabrics www.backporchfabrics.com

Bay Quilts http://bay-quilts.shoplightspeed.com

Bella's Studio www.bellastudiomonterey.com

Family Threads www.FamilyThreads.org

The Last Stitch, long arm quilting www.laststitchquiltingdesignstudio.com

Monarch Knitting www.monarchknitting.com

Nimble Thimble www.nimblethimble.com

RoJenDesigns www.rojendesigns.com

 

MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION

Guidelines for Documenting Your Quilts www.lostquilt.com

 

WORKSHOPS & TUTORIALS

Bernina www.bernina.com

Christine Porter Quilts (Conferences in England) www.christineporterquilts.com

Leah Day (The Free Motion Quilt Project) www.daystyledesigns.com

Empty Spools Seminars www.emptyspoolsseminars.com 

Beginner's Guide to Quilting http://www.bettertextures.com/beginners-guide-to-quilting.php

67 Quick Tips for Quilters http://www.quiltblockofthemonthclub.com/quilting-hints-and-tips.php

Home Advisor - General Sewing How-To Info http://www.homeadvisor.com/r/home-hobbies-sewing-resources/#.WBo0KXeZP4c

 

FABRIC, BATTING

Abby's Reflection Apparel & Quiltworks (Alaskan theme products) www.abbysreflection.com

Always Unique Hand Dyed Fabric www.AlwaysUniqueFabric.com

Artistic Artifacts (New and Vintage Supplies for Fiber & Mixed Media Artists) www.artisticartifacts.com

Back Porch Fabricswww.backporchfabrics.com

Bay Quiltshttp://bay-quilts.shoplightspeed.com

Beverly'swww.beverlys.com/monterey-store

Big Horn Quilts www.bighornquilts.com

birch FABRICSwww.fabricworm.com

Changing Tides (Alaskan theme products)www.alaskastitches.com

Dharma Trading Companywww.dharmatrading.com

equilter.comwww.equilter.com

Family Threadswww.FamilyThreads.org

Hancocks of Paducah www.hancocks-paducah.com 

Kaffe Fassett www.gloriouscolor.com

Keepsake Quiltingwww.keepsakequilting.com 

Nimble Thimblewww.nimblethimble.com

Not Just QuiltZ (Aboriginal fabrics)www.notjustquiltz.com 

Skye Batiks (Celtic batiks)www.skyebatiks.com

Thai Silkswww.ThaiSilks.com

WebFabrics www.webfabrics.com 

 

PROFESSIONAL QUILTING

Holly Casey Quiltswww.hollycaseyquilts.com

The Last Stitchwww.laststitchquiltingdesignstudio.com

The Quiltin Ladywww.thequiltinlady@redshift.com

Sew Happymacnur@gmail.com

Steve Clizbe screaming09eagle@att.net

 

NOTIONS

Britex www.shopbritexnotions.com 

Clotildewww.clotilde.com

Lacis www.lacis.com

MistyFusewww.mistyfuse.com

Martelli Notions www.martellinotions.com 

Nancy's Notionswww.nancysnotions.com

 

THREAD, SPECIALTY THREAD, YARN

Madonna Needleworkswww.MadonnaNeedleworks.com

Monarch Knitting www.monarchknitting.com

Redrock Threads www.redrockthreads.com 

Superior Threads www.superiorthreads.com

 

BEADS, BUTTONS

Fire Mountain Gemswww.firemountaingems.com

Fusion Beadswww.fusionbeads.com

Monarch Knittingwww.monarchknitting.com

Oriental Trading Companywww.orientaltrading.com

Whim Beadswww.whimbeads.com

 

BOOKS AND PATTERNS

Abby's Reflection Apparel & Quiltwork (Alaskan theme products)www.abbysreflection.com

AQSwww.AQSquilt.com

Back Porch Fabricswww.backporchfabrics.com

Book Database Reviewhttps://media.rainpos.com/5018/book_database.pdf

C&T Publishingwww.ctpub.com 

Changing Tides (Alaskan theme products)www.alaskastitches.com

Creative Quilting - London Calling Quilt Patternwww.creativequilting.co.uk

Family Threadswww.FamilyThreads.org

Monarch Knittingwww.monarchknitting.com 

Nimble Thimblewww.nimblethimble.com

Quilting Artswww.quiltingarts.com 

 

CHALLENGES

Quilt Guilds/OrganizationsLocal, UFO exchange, MQG, Studio Art Quilt Associates (SAQA), The International Art Quilt Challenge

MagazinesQuilting Arts, Machine/Modern Quilts Unlimited, Quiltmaker

Online - ArtCallforEntries www.artcallforentries.com/Project Quilting/Persimmon Dreams, Facebook Group: Challenge Quilts, Electric Quilts

Fabric CompaniesCherrywood, Hoffman, American Made Brand, Michael Miller, Riley Blake, Free Spirit, Keepsake Quilting

TelevisionWisconsin Public Television

Quilt ShowsQuiltCon, Quilt Expo

CharityProject Linus

Friends, Fellow Guild MembersFollow Mel Beach via Facebook or her Newsletter (www.melbeachquilts.com, or pieceloveandhappiness.blogspot.com)

 

TOURS AND TRAVEL INFO 

Jeanne Mills Tours (France) www.jeannemillstours.com

Quilt Shop Navigator www.myqsn.com

Quilting Hub www.QuiltingHub.com

 

SEWING MACHINE SALES and REPAIR 

The Cotton Patch www.quiltusa.com

Eddie's Quilting Bee www.eddiesquiltingbee.com

Judy's Sewing Center www.judyssewingcenter.com

More Than Sewing (Sewing Machines, Repairs, Parts), 831-758-6429 

Nimble Thimble www.nimblethimble.com

 

PRINTED MATERIAL

Moo www.moo.com

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Pines & Needles

2019-2020

May  Love Block

April  Butterfly Block

February  Heart Block

January  Scrappy Courthouse Steps

November Tree

October Strippy Pumpkin

September Scotty Dog

2018 - 2019

August Canning Jar

July Patriotic Log Cabin Triangle

June What Color is Your Suitcase?

May Large Flying Geese

April Paper Pinwheel

March Wonky Star

February Bird House

January Scrappy Arrow

November Delectable Mountain

October Plaid Improv Plus

September What Color is Your Tulip?

2017 - 2018

August String Block

July Log Cabin Chicken

June (email Kathrin Brown)

May MOD Plaid Pineapple

April Strippy Sunset

March MOD Pineapple

February Water Wheel

December Improv Trees

Nov Double Hourglass On Point

October Arrow

Sept Double Hour Glass

2016 - 2017

August Hour Glass

July Star Spangled

June Churn Dash

May Applique Circle

April Feeling the Blues

March Butterfly

February Hearts on Fire

January None

December None

November Mid Century House

October Row of Geese

September Improvisational

2015 - 2016

August Chinese Coins

July Sail Away

June Double Pinwheel

May Scrappy Flower Basket

April Broken Dishes

March Irish Chain

February Heart

January Disappearing 9-Patch

December Pine Tree & 16-Patch

November Maple Leaf

October Ribbon Twist

September What's In Your Mason Jar?

Find previous BOMs below